Skip to content

Staff & Town Councillors

Key Personnel

Ian Adkin

Town Clerk

Ian joined as Assistant Clerk in 2020, a week before lockdown and quickly found himself in the hotseat!

He later became Town Clerk in December 2020. He has lived in Hackney in Darley Dale for over 10 years and his role involves advising Councillors, balancing the books and making sure all the office technology works.

He is though most passionate about improving the town and the local environment in any way he can.

Jason Hedley

Assistant Town Clerk

Jason was formerly a member of the Diplomatic Service, serving in the UK and overseas for a number of years.

His Environmental Management degree has been very beneficial to the Town Council when discussing environmental and planning issues in Darley Dale.

Jason grew up in the Peak District and now lives in Bakewell.

Sarah Rivett

Community Engagement Officer

Sarah joined Darley Dale Town Council in November 2022 taking on the newly created role as Community Engagement Officer. The purpose of Sarah’s role is to forge connections with residents, groups and businesses, enabling them to have more of an influence and say in Darley Dale.

Sarah previously worked as a Community Development Manager for a property management firm. Prior to that, she worked in marketing for a London-based investment management company.


Cllr Dave Oakley

Chair of the Council

Dave worked in the motor industry most of his working life before retiring in 2021. He was first a Councillor 2008-2011 and was co-opted back onto the Council in December 2019, before becoming Mayor in 2020.

He represents the North Ward and is on the Finance, Personnel and Planning Committees within the Council. Dave also sits on the Board of Trustees for The Whitworth.

Dave joined the Council to be able to help, guide and support the local community as well as helping influence decisions that best benefit the people of Darley Dale. You will often see Dave at The Whitworth, with his dog Pasha, catching up with the Town Clerk team and he is always on hand to catch up with residents and local businesses.

Cllr Jason Farmer

Vice-Chair of the Council

Jason spent many years in retail and now runs a family business which owns a large portfolio of properties.

He was co-opted onto the Council in 2021 and represents the South Ward. He was elected as Vice-Chair in October 2021 and is also Chair of Planning.

Jason joined the Council to make a difference and give something back to his local community, where he has lived all his life.

Cllr Carolyn Curtis

Cllr Curtis was elected to the Council in May 2019 and represents the North Ward.

She is a member of the Community Services Committee and Planning and a member of the Whitworth Trust. She is also a Council Representative on the Twinning Committee.

Cllr Ann Elliott

Before retiring Ann worked in banking in Darley Dale and Matlock.

Ann gained her Council experience in Matlock, firstly on the Town Council for 16 years where she was Mayor on two occasions and eight years on the District Council.

Ann was co-opted onto the Town Council in September 2021 and joined to represent families in Darley Dale having been a mother to three now grown-up children with their own families.

Cllr Alan Long

Alan was elected to the Council in May 2019 and represents the North Ward. He is a member of the Finance Committee and Chair of the Whitworth Trust.

He also established an Environmental Working Group involving the Council, The Whitworth and other local stakeholders. Alan works within affordable housing and care, where he has 17 years’ experience and became a director of a housing association.

Alan wanted to become a councillor because as someone who benefits from living in Darley Dale, he wanted to give something back.

Cllr John Mordue

John Mordue worked for the local authority adult social care services sector for 30 years before retiring.

He was co-opted onto the Council in June 2021 and represents the South Ward.

John has lived in Darley Dale since 1992 and his interests include allotments, the environment and promoting local community activity.

Cllr Wendy Godber

Wendy was previously a councillor at Four Marks Parish Council, in Hampshire, where she served for four years.

She previously worked for Camden and Islington Community Mental Health Trust and has been a volunteer Bereavement Counsellor at a number of hospices.

In 2017 Wendy moved to Darley Dale and is our newest councillor who was co-opted onto the Town Council in November 2022 to represent the North Ward.

Her passions for the Green Movement have always led her to support or become involved with the promotion of environmentalist projects.

Cllr Ian Walker

Ian is a retired professional engineer having held senior board level positions in major manufacturing companies of power tools and defence electronics in Europe, the USA and the Far East.

He settled in Darley Dale in 1998 and was previously a Council and Whitworth Trust member. He has a major interest in planning and community engagement and is a Council representative for the South Ward.

Cllr Sean Taylor

Cllr Sean Taylor was co-opted in early 2022.

He lives in Two Dales and is a member of the Communications Working Group. He represents the North Ward.

Cllr Sarah Halliwell

Cllr Halliwell was co-opted in December 2021 and represents the South Ward. She is passionate about the environment, loves property and helping people save money.